UQ dentistry experts take the lead

5 Dec 2017

Three members of the University of Queensland’s esteemed dentistry alumni have joined the leadership ranks of the Australian Dental Association Queensland Branch.

Professor Laurie Walsh, Dr Matthew Nangle and Honorary Professor Ian Meyers have been appointed as President, Councillor, and Chief Executive Officer respectively.

Professor Laurie Walsh has held various positions within the UQ School of Dentistry, including Head of School from 2004 to 2013.

Professor Walsh is currently the discipline lead for special needs dentistry, research group leader for advanced materials and technologies, and joint coordinator of clinical placements within the school.

Dr Matthew Nangle is a senior lecturer within the School of Dentistry whose research in neurobiology has been published internationally.

Dr Nangle now combines neuroscience with psychology and applies this to dentistry, investigating cognitive predictors of oral health.

Professor Ian Meyers graduated from UQ in 1982 and worked in both the public and private dental sectors until 2009 when he became Chief Dental Officer at Queensland Health, and took on the role of Branch President of ADAQ.

Professor Meyers returned to full-time private practice in 2010 until being appointed CEO of ADAQ in February this year, shortly after being recognised in the Australia Day Honours List with a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

Professor Meyers has been a staff member in the UQ School of Dentistry since 1988.

School of Dentistry Head of School Professor Pauline Ford said the appointments are well deserved recognition of the contributions and dedication of each of the appointees to the profession.

“The school is immensely proud to see its staff and alumni taking on leadership positions that will directly and positively influence the evolution of dentistry in Queensland and the oral health of Queenslanders” Professor Ford said.

Media: Jo Hickman, UQ Communications, jo.hickman@uq.edu.au, +61 7 3346 3037.